European USOCs


BIOTESC is the Swiss USOC, and service branch of the Center of Competence in Aerospace Biomedical Science and Technology. BIOTESC is the Facility Responsible Center for KUBIK, a transportable incubator, and the Facility Support Center for BIOLAB, a facility for biological experiments in the Columbus module. The centre is located at the University of Lucerne.


The B.USOC is the Belgian USOC and, as such, it carries out experiments on board the International Space Station (ISS) and Satellite ranging from the integration of payloads to their in-orbit operation, astronaut training, processing and dissemination of the scientific data obtained. B.USOC is the Science Operations Centre for CNES PICARD micro-satellite and ESA/ISS/SOLARB. Besides, is the Facility Responsible Center for ESA/ISS/METERON and ESA/ISS/ASIM.


The CADMOS (Centre d’Aide au Développement des activités en Micro-pesanteur et des Opérations Spatiales) is a CNES (Centre National d’Etudes Spatiales) structure which helps user teams to prepare and develop experiments which require microgravity environment (Space Station, automatic spacecraft, Airbus-0g,…).CADMOS groups together mission control, operation and exploitation centre functions.
The CADMOS centre was created in 1993 at CNES, in Toulouse, in order to support all French manned flights performed on-board MIR station or shuttle spacecraft. The expertise of CNES Space Station Utilisation division teams linked to CADMOS include PVH mission on-board Salyut-7 in 1982, 6 French-Russian missions on-board MIR station from 1982 to 1999, 51-G and LMS missions on-board US Shuttle in 1985 and 1996 and one French-Russian mission on-board the International Space Station in 2001.


Danish Aerospace Company (DAC) is a high-tech company operating in the area of advanced medical instrumentation and other engineering fields primarily within space applications.
ESA has nominated Danish Aerospace Company as the responsible center for a series of human physiology equipment’s and experiments; among these are PFS and Portable PFS.


The Microgravity User Support Center (MUSC), located at the DLR German Aerospace Center in Köln, offers support for preparation, operation and evaluation of space experiments. Scientific and technical experience in the fields of materials sciences, biology, human physiology sciences, and planetary and comet physics have been built up over the last two decades. MUSC is a co-operative effort of two scientific Institutes at DLR offering specialised knowledge on experimental techniques in the space environment. MUSC is operated by the multi-disciplinary personnel of the Institutes of Space Simulation and of Aerospace Medicine. It is the central German user support centre for microgravity sciences. MUSC is assigned as FRC for BIOLAB and FRC for the MSL-LGF.


The Norwegian User Support and Operations Centre (N-USOC) is located in Trondheim, Norway. N-USOC is a project at the Centre for Interdisciplinary Research in Space (CIRiS), a department of NTNU University. N-USOC is the Facility Responsible Centre (FRC) for the European Modular Cultivation System (EMCS)and the Automatic Identification System (AIS) in the Columbus module onboard ISS.

Space Agencies

European Space Agency

The European Space Agency (ESA) is Europe’s gateway to space. Its mission is to shape the development of Europe’s space capability and ensure that investment in space continues to deliver benefits to the citizens of Europe and the world.
ESA is an international organisation with 18 Member States. By coordinating the financial and intellectual resources of its members, it can undertake programmes and activities far beyond the scope of any single European country.
ESA’s job is to draw up the European space programme and carry it through. ESA’s programmes are designed to find out more about Earth, its immediate space environment, our Solar System and the Universe, as well as to develop satellite-based technologies and services, and to promote European industries.

National Aeronautics and Space Administration

The National Aeronautics and Space Administration is an agency of the United States government, responsible for the nation’s public space program. NASA was established on July 29, 1958, by the National Aeronautics and Space Act. NASA’s mission is to pioneer the future in space exploration, scientific discovery and aeronautics research.
To do that, thousands of people have been working around the world — and off of it — for 50 years, trying to answer some basic questions. What’s out there in space? How do we get there? What will we find? What can we learn there, or learn just by trying to get there, that will make life better here on Earth?

Canadian Space Agency

The Canadian Space Agency (CSA) is the Canadian government space agency responsible for Canada’s space program. It was established in March 1989 by the Canadian Space Agency Act and sanctioned in December 1990. The Chief Executive Officer of the agency is the President who reports to the Minister of Industry. The headquarters of the CSA is located at John H. Chapman Space Centre in Saint-Hubert, Quebec.

The Canadian Space Program is also administered by the Canadian Space Agency. Canada has contributed technology, expertise and personnel to the world space effort, especially in collaboration with NASA and the ESA.